The Estuary Transit District was formed in 1981 by the nine towns of the Connecticut River Estuary Region to provide local, coordinated public transportation for residents of the area. The District operates under the name 9 Town Transit. The District is a political subdivision of the state of Connecticut created under the authority of chapter 103 (a) of the general statutes, and is governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the member towns. The Board appoints an Executive Director to manage the day-to-day operations of the district. It is funded by fare revenue, the Federal Transit Administration, the Connecticut Department of Transportation, and the nine member towns.